House Dyslexia Caucus

In 2012 Representatives Pete Stark and Bill Cassidy launched the U.S. Congressional Dyslexia Caucus.  The goal of this bipartisan group is to raise awareness about dyslexia and to ensure that every dyslexic child and adult have a chance to read, to learn, and to demonstrate and realize his or her full potential. “Dyslexia is a major learning disability which affects nearly 20% of Americans,” said Congressman Cassidy.  “By raising awareness of dyslexia we can change the way we educate our children and assist millions of children to get on the path to success.”

In 2015, the House Dyslexia Caucus announced its 114th Congress leadership with Congressman Lamar Smith (R-Texas) and Congresswoman Julia Brownley (D-Calif.) serving as bipartisan co-chairs.

“€I am pleased to co-chair this important caucus with my colleague, Congresswoman Brownley,” said Rep. Smith. “As a member of this caucus and chairman of the House Science, Space, and Technology Committee, I have realized the importance of continued dyslexia research as well as the need for early detection and intervention in our schools. My hope is that this caucus will continue to play a key role in educating our colleagus in Congress and the public about dyslexia. Changing the way we approach dyslexia—€”as possibility rather than disability—€”can enhance opportunities and brighten futures for millions.”€

Below is a list of members of Congress who have joined the caucus. If you don’™t see your representative, we urge you to write or call and ask your congressman to join the caucus. You can find out who your congressional representative is by clicking here.



Rep. Smith
Lamar Smith
member graphic
Julia Brownley
(D – California)



Rep. Robert Aderholt (R – Alabama)
Rep. Brad Ashford (D – Nebraska)
Rep. Lou Barletta (R – Pennsylvania)
Rep. Joyce Beatty (D – Ohio)
Rep. Dan Benishek (R – Michigan)
Rep. Don Beyer (D – Virginia)
Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R – Florida)
Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R -Tennessee)
Rep. Rod Blum (R – Iowa)
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D – Oregon)
Rep. Madeleine Bordallo (D – Guam)
Rep. Mike Bost (R – Illinois)
Rep. Kevin Brady (R – Texas)
Rep. Dave Brat (R – Virginia)
Rep. Mo Brooks (R – Alabama)
Rep. Susan Brooks (R – Indiana)
Rep. Larry Bucshon (R – Indiana)
Rep. Vern Buchanan (R – Florida)
Rep. Michael Burgess (R – Texas)
Rep. Lois Capps (D – California)
Rep. Michael Capuano (D – Massachusetts)
Rep. Ken Calvert (R – California)
Rep. John Carter (R – Texas)
Rep. David Cicilline (D – Rhode Island)
Rep. Katherine Clark (D – Massachusetts)
Rep. Mike Coffman (R – Colorado)
Rep. Barbara Comstock (R – Virginia)
Rep. Mike Conaway (R – Texas)
Rep. Gerry Connolly (D – Virginia)
Rep. Ryan Costello (R – Pennsylvania)
Rep. Joe Courtney (D – Connecticut)
Rep. Rodney Davis (R – Illinois)
Rep. Susan Davis (D – California)
Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D – Connecticut)
Rep. Suzan DelBene (D – Washington)
Rep. Charlie Dent (R – Pennsylvania)
Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R – Tennessee)
Rep. Theodore Deutch (D – Florida)
Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D – Texas)
Rep. Robert Dold (R – Illinois)
Rep. John Duncan (R – Tennessee)
Rep. Donna Edwards (R – Maryland)
Rep. Elizabeth Esty (D – Connecticut)
Rep. Blake Farenthold (R – Texas)
Rep. Sam Farr (D – California)
Rep. Chaka Fattah (D – Pennsylvania)
Rep. Bill Flores (R – Texas)
Rep. Lois Frankel (D – Florida)
Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R – Virginia)
Rep. Kay Granger (R – Texas)
Rep. Garret Graves (R – Louisiana)
Rep. Gregg Harper (R – Mississippi)
Rep. Alcee L. Hastings (D – Florida)
Rep. French Hill (R – Arkansas)
Rep. James Himes (D – Connecticut)
Rep. Jared Huffman (D – California)
Rep. Bill Johnson (R – Ohio)
Rep. Derek Kilmer (D – Washington)
Rep. Ann Kuster (D – New Hampshire)
Rep. Leonard Lance (R – New Jersey)
Rep. John B. Larson (D – Connecticut)
Rep. Barbara Lee (D – California)
Rep. Ted Lieu (D – California)
Rep. Frank LoBiondo (R – New Jersey)
Rep. Ben Luján (D – New Mexico)
Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham (D – New Mexico)
Rep. Kenny Marchant (R – Texas)
Rep. Michael McCaul (R – Texas)
Rep. Jim McGovern (D – Massachusetts)
Rep. Patrick McHenry (R – North Carolina)
Rep. David McKinley (R – West Virginia)
Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R – Washington)
Rep. Jerry McNerney (D – California)
Rep. Mark Meadows (R – North Carolina)
Rep. Luke Messer (R – Indiana)
Rep. Richard Neal (D – Massachusetts)
Rep. Rand Neugebauer (R – Texas)
Rep. Donal Norcross (D – New Jersey)
Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D – District of Columbia)
Rep. Steve Palazzo (R – Mississippi)
Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D – New Jersey)
Rep. Scott Perry (R – Pennsylvania)
Rep. Joe Pitts (R – Pennsylvania)
Rep. Jared Polis (D – Colorado)
Rep. Charles Rangel (D – New York)
Rep. Reid Ribble (R – Wisconsin)
Rep. Phil Roe (R – Tennessee)
Rep. Todd Rokita (R – Indiana)
Rep. Peter Roskam (R – Illinois)
Rep. Dennis Ross (R – Florida)
Rep. C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D – Maryland)
Rep. Matt Salmon (R – Arizona)
Rep. John Sarbanes (D – Maryland)
Rep. Pete Sessions (R – Texas)
Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (D – Arizona)
Rep. Chris Smith (R – New Jersey)
Rep. Jackie Speier (D – California)
Rep. Chris Stewart (R – Utah)
Rep. Steve Stivers (R – Ohio)
Rep. Eric Swallell (D – California)
Rep. Mark Takai (D – Hawaii)
Rep. Mark Takano (D – California)
Rep. Glenn Thompson (R – Pennsylvania)
Rep. Pat Tiberi (R – Ohio)
Rep. Jackie Walorski (R – Indiana)
Rep. Mimi Walters (R – California)
Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D – Florida)
Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D – New Jersey)
Rep. Randy Weber (R – Texas)
Rep. Bruce Westerman (R – Arkansas)
Rep. Roger Williams (R – Texas)
Rep. Rob Wittman (R – Virginia)
Rep. Kevin Yoder (R – Kansas)
Rep. David Young (R – Iowa)
Rep. Don Young (R – Alaska)
Rep. Todd Young (R – Indiana)

Visit the House website for the Dyslexia Caucus:

Scroll to Top